Half a King – Review and Givaway!

I was kindly send this book to review and I sure have enjoyed it. I wont give away any spoilers so you can enter the giveaway at the end of this post and enjoy it yourself. Here is the blurb:

Prince Yarvi has vowed to regain a throne he never wanted. But first he must survive cruelty, chains and the bitter waters of the Shattered Sea itself. And he must do it all with only one good hand. Born a weakling in the eyes of his father, Yarvi is alone in a world where a strong arm and a cold heart rule. He cannot grip a shield or swing an axe, so he must sharpen his mind to a deadly edge.  Gathering a strange fellowship of the outcast and the lost, he finds they can do more to help him become the man he needs to be than any court of nobles could.

Recommended for years 15 and up, when I started reading this book I thought it was a bit “Game of Thronesy”, this perception did change as I read on. It might have probably been due to the review on the front by George R.R. Martin (author of the Game of Thrones series)…

A fast-paced tale of betrayal and revenge that gripped me from page one and refused to let go

…and the title of the first part is called “the black chair”, kind of reminded me of  the iron throne. Moving on, this tale is about a young prince called Yarvi, who feels out of place due to his deformed hand; he wants to join the ministry and leave all the swordplay to his brother and father. However, everything took a turn for Yarvi as his father and brother are dead. Leaving Yarvi on the throne. This book got me hooked, I couldn’t put it down. I haven’t read that religiously to a book in a long time. George R.R. Martin summed it up to a T. Why it got me addicted was due to the diverse range of characters, stunning imagery, and the twists and turns that Abercrombie creates within his storytelling. I’m usually quite good at presuming what twist is going to happen in a novel, but it didn’t happen to me when I read this. Joe Abercrombie’s writing is masterful. The factor that I love about the layout of this book are the short chapters. I mainly read at night, so It’s nice to be able to close the book without reading 20 pages until the next chapter, all the while not really focusing on it.  Something else that appeals to me with the aesthetics of the book is the front cover, it isn’t very often that I say I enjoy the cover of a book, it doesn’t give anything away and appears classy due to the black and white colourway. If you love fantasy novels set in a whole other world, girl or boy, man or woman. You’ll love it. If you wish to order it I’ll leave a link to the Amazon page here.

Now time for the Giveaway so one of you lucky readers can enjoy this tale for yourself! All you have to do is leave a comment saying what your favourite book is at the moment and why, and what kind of posts you’d like to see in the future. Oh and don’t forget to leave your email in the comment so I can contact you if you’re the winner! (closes 18th July, UK residents only)

-BethanNicole

5 thoughts on “Half a King – Review and Givaway!

  1. Being a teacher I haven’t had time to read in FOREVER! But the last book I read and fell Inn love with was Delerium by Lauren Oliver.
    I found your blog from the Facebook group so still getting to know it – so far, so good but if I think o any ideas for posts I will let you know!
    Sare xxx
    http://Www.newteacherlife.wordpress.com

    Like

  2. Hmm, I haven’t read in a while but I’d say my all time favorite book is Night by elie wiesel; he is such a great writer.
    For future posts: I like DIY posts and lifestyle posts 🙂 Posts with lots of pictures also!

    Like

  3. Sadly, I’m in the states but I still wanted to comment! =) At this moment, my favorite book is The Princess and The Bride =) It’s so funny and easy to read. I want to read the whole Pretty Little Liars series next! For future posts, I enjoy reading about everyday life musing and beauty reviews. i enjoy what you’re writing about now. Hopefully that is helpful!!

    Like

What did you think?

