Being able to go the (long) distance

I’m not going to be the kind of person who drabs on and on about my boyfriend. ‘Cause lets face it, those people are really annoying. But this is a subject that has been on my mind a lot recently.

So here’s the situation at the moment. I met Dan (who’s probably reading this now) at Pizza Hut, the most romantic workplace ever, not. We bonded over cats, our dry sense of humour and mutual loathing for the human race; especially those who take Pizza Hut serious to an unhealthily extent. So yeah, after knowing each other for like 9 months we got together (sort of can’t really remember) at Halloween; whilst he was dressed as Moe from The Simpsons, in a giant pumpkin suit wearing my friend’s sailor hat and demanded everyone called him “Cap’n Pumpkin”, I however was dressed as a skeleton.

me, Dan, Sarah and Leon, if you have a problem with being on my blog, then fuck you.

 So that’s how it started, fast forwarding so summer he finished University and moved back to Newcastle at the end of June, leaving me in Sheffield (If you don’t come from the UK It’s about a 2 1/2 hour drive away). I’m just glad I appreciated him living a 10 minute walk away while I still could, but not being able to see him is a pain in the ass. If you have ever been in a long distance relationship before, you’ll know that you want to get on with your life and have fun, but it’s difficult because you miss someone. That is probably why most of these relationships don’t last long, hopefully this one will though.

Oh and also I forgot to mention that he is probably going to get a job in London which is even further away. if any fellow bloggers/aspiring agony aunts have any tips about how to get through a long distance relationship without it eating at my social life, please feel free to leave a comment.

But no, I can’t go with him because I’m starting University (again) in September so basically I know that it’s going to be at least 3 years before I know we’ll live in the same city. 

– Lots of love, Beth..

5 thoughts on “Being able to go the (long) distance

  1. That’s kind of a hard situation but it’s do-able. I dated someone long distance for 3 years. He lived like 2000 miles away, all the way across the states. You just will need to set a few times a year or once a month or something to see one another and make sure to Skype and call one another a lot. It’s hard but does get easier.

    Like

  2. I feel your pain my dear. My boyfriend lives in Chesterfield which is still pretty far from Doncaster to have regular meetings. It’s made worse by the fact that for the majority of the year I live in London. We’ve managed three and a bit years so far and one more until I finish uni and all I can offer you in the way of advice is to persevere. You will get lonely and down sometimes because you don’t feel right without Dan around. And you will worry it might not last but the way I’ve worked at it is to try to appreciate those times that you do get to see him. Oh and don’t cry and get grumpy when one of the two of you has to go back home. I do that a lot. It annoys him lol.

    Like

  3. I haven’t been in a long distance relationship myself but if there’s one thing that is important in ANY relationship is communication. So even if you can’t see each other in person very often because of the distance, one thing you can consider doing is arranging a time with him when you can Skype and talk to each other. A friend of mine on my uni course had to stay in Cardiff while her boyfriend studied in Spain and Japan for his uni course and they found Skyping helped them get through it more easily. Even though it meant she would wake up at 5am to talk to him when it was late at night for him or vice versa. I don’t know if this will be helpful to you but I hope things of well. 🙂

    Like

What did you think?

