Doctor Who so far (episodes 1, 2 and 3)

Now I’ll be the first to point out that my blog doesn’t have a very specific “market” I just write about what I like, and what interests me. From to books and films to make-up, and home-ware to my day-to -day thoughts and observations. Sometimes I’m funny, sometimes I’m serious. And lets be honest, who doesn’t love a good rant on their blog?

This is going to be a little bit of a rant, so Whovians welcome to my thoughts on the new series of the ever so beloved Doctor Who…. Which has now been fucked over by Moffat!

I actually used to like Moffat’s writing, when he would input the odd episode, “Girl in the Fireplace” is one of my all time favourites (but I’ll get back to that in a bit). Moffat – to me – was seen as the writer who wrote the typical “hide behind the sofa” episodes. However now he’s portrayed as someone who wrote a good thing, but he cannot think of anything else good, and so he keeps going back to something good he made. Deep Breath was crap anyway, but the fact that “Girl in the Fireplace” was referenced – for which seems to be – no good reason in the episode, just baffled me! Unless it’s related to this stupid story ark that’ll, as usual, not be wrapped up well. Is it only me who is fed up with these story arks?  

It has been stated multiple times about Moffat being sexist, which is why I’m not going to touch on this subject too much. I’m just glad that Moffat can’t force Clara and The Doctor together again because… well… Capaldi isn’t exactly a spring chicken now is he? I like how there is no sexual tension between them, it feels like it hasn’t been like this since Eccleston and Piper in series 1. But surprise surprise in “Into the Dalek” Clara simply has to be put together with a man. Does Moffat know that women can function perfectly well without men? Probably not.  

I’m pretty happy that Moffat has only “fully” written 4 out of the 12 episodes lined up. The latest episode “Robot of Sherwood” was by far the best out of the 3, Mark Gatiss’ writing was amazing.   

Moving on, I’m just going to put it out there that I absolutely LOVE Capaldi as the new Doctor. Tennent and Smith’s Doctors were sort of similar, where as now it’s like the silliness and the goodygoodyness has been lifted, and it feels so refreshing. Even if it is a bit darker, Capaldi doesn’t seem to care if someone dies, but Clara does. We have a human and an alien side of the story again, instead of Tennent trying to save people left, right and centre.  

Lastly (there is so much to say but I don’t want to bore you) the intro. WHAT HAS HAPPENED. WHY?! Why have they made it so tacky and awful? The time vortex worked, why ruin it? And the music eugh. I can’t really explain what it is that I hate so much about it, is it only me? Let me know your opinion about it.

Infact, let me know all your opinions!

*image shown isn’t mine (I wish)

5 thoughts on “Doctor Who so far (episodes 1, 2 and 3)

  1. I’ve not seen the new series of Dr. Who with Capaldi. I saw The Day of the Dr and also the Christmas episode and bawled my eyes out lol. I love that show so much!!!! I need to catch up on the latest ones. At first I didn’t think I’d like Matt Smith as the Dr. I thought he was weird at first, but now he’s one of my favorites! My favorite Dr’s were by David Tennant and Matt 🙂 I started watching when Eccleston was the Dr. and wasn’t the hugest fan of him. I wasn’t sure how I’d like Capaldi. I need to get back into it and watch the new ones! 🙂
    http://prettyloved.wordpress.com

    Like

  2. I actually liked these first three episodes. Granted, some points within them were a bit odd and could have been done differently but overall I liked them.

    I guess I’m an odd fan in that I don’t pay attention to who writes the episode, I just watch for what actions the doctor takes and then try to interpret it from there. If that makes me less of a fan then I guess I’ve been going about this the wrong way.

    I also thought that the callback to “The Girl in the Fireplace” was funny. It got a little redundant after a few uses but I can’t help but feel that it might be used as a story point somewhere in the future, you never know.

    The new doctor is supposed to me more serious and mature in my opinion and he is still acting like a more playful silly doctor, typical of 11 and a little of 10.

    Clara can totally exist without a man. In my mind, she is the one who had the power in all of their encounters because the guy messed up so bad. Wether that goes anywhere I’ll be interested to see. It could be the way that Clara is taken off the show, when she decides to live a life with that guy (just speculating)

    I liked the time vortex but I can’t say I completely dislike the new opening.

    We seem to have contrasting opinions but I like seeing a different opinion other than my own so thanks for that.

    Sorry for such a long comment but you asked for it 🙂 Also if you want to know what I thought about a specific part then ask away, I’d be better at explaining my thoughts on a specific scene rather than the entire three episodes.

    Like

What did you think?

